What Matters

I imagine every morning I am born again. I wake to dawn and meditate in the presence of what I consider Sacred. I remind myself I’m offered new hours for new adventures in new moments to make new choices among unbelievably vast alternative possibilities. I call this prayer.

Christians say: “Lord, make me an instrument of your peace…”

Buddhists say: “May all sentient beings enjoy happiness and causes of happiness
May all be free from suffering and the causes of suffering
May all never be separated from the sacred happiness devoid of suffering
May all dwell in the great equanimity, free from passion, aggression and prejudice.”

Jews say: “Hear O Lord the sound of my call. Hear O Lord and have mercy.
My soul is longing for the glory of you. O hear O Lord and answer me.”

Muslims say: “The morning has come to me and the whole universe belongs to Allah,
the Lord of the worlds, O Allah, I ask of you the good of the day,
it’s success and aid and it’s celestial light and blessings.
I seek guidance and refuge from the evil in it and
from the evil of that which is to come later.”

Hindus say: “May there be voice in my mouth, breath in my nostrils,
sight in my eyes, hearing in my ears;
May my hair not turn grey or my teeth purple;
May I have much strength in my arms.
May I have power in my thighs, swiftness in my legs, steadiness in my feet.
May all limbs be uninjured and my soul remain unconquered.”

I say: now. now. now. now. now. now. “Now’ leads my meditation and reminds me where to go. Prayer soon follows. I close my eyes focusing on each exhalation with gratitude. I’m thankful for my autonomic nervous system… as I let my Sacred sustain each inhale somewhere beyond my immediate attention. My “now” mantra reminds me of what really matters. Good morning, God!

Today matters: yesterday’s complete; tomorrow’s not yet.
Now matters: this prayerful moment emerges for me as one for me: form and substance are the same.
Unity matters: I remember that duality is overrated. We are one.
Attention matters: I’m Energy in search of my attention so my intentions can come into reality.
Intention matters: I clear my focus for manifestation… not unlike magic.
Prayer reminds me I cab be a magician in my own life.
In prayer, Spirit and I converge. I’m here. My Sacred is here. This matters.

In prayer I’m still, quiet, calm and listening. I show myself who I am. This also matters.
I remember deaf men do hear…blind women see…the paralyzed still feel and none are dumb.
I have come to believe that prayer shows me what matters.
Prayer manifests that I am indivisibly interconnected. I am interdependent. This matters.

In prayer, in the now of being in the presence of the Sacred, I meet a simple God on the far side of my often complicated even convoluted agenda
of needs, wants, desires, dreams, goals and ‘to do’ lists. I can say “I want” really well.

Prayer consistently shows me that all lives matter. Black lives matter. Brown lives matter. White lives matter. All lives matter!
And I’ve learned to ask… why stop there? Livestock, poultry and dairy lives matter. All sentient beings matter. I pray that everyday. All lives matter. Without a doubt, meditation (prayer) changes my perspective. My past matters less. My future matters more…but the present matters most. The
more I pray, the more I sense that judgments, categories, classes, divisions, groups, ranks, labels, tags – all seem like meaningless divisions that clutter my spirituality and my world view.

I am reminded daily: “Who Am I to Judge?”

What Matters

Leave a Reply

