Coexist

When I read or hear too many self-righteous words quoted in the name of God. I ache that the visions and voices of religious people use their sacred texts to justify their fear, anger and hatred.
Words attributed to God manifesting as intolerance, exclusion and condemnation are unholy weapons of mass destruction murdering whole countries across our uncommon ground.

Brother to brother violence is evil.

Christians and Jews fight Muslims. Buddhists fight Muslims. Muslims fight Christians, Jews, Buddhists and Hindus.
Religion has become a problem. I am too often ashamed.

Today, I resolve again to coexist. I choose to condemn less and be more kind.
I’ll quote no verse of any sacred text to justify my biased subjective perspective or half truths too often inseparable from my ego.
I recommit to listening without rehearsing my response.
Today, I’m more of the solution and less the problem. I pray I am not alone.

“There will be no peace among the nations without peace among the religions and no peace among the religions without dialogue.” -Hans Kung

“Until there is peace between religions, there can be no peace in the world.” -Thich Nhat Hanh

Coexist

One thought on “Coexist

Leave a Reply

