Muslim Prayer for Peace

“In the name of God, the Beneficent, the Merciful.
Praise be to the Lord of the Universe
who has created us and
made us into tribes and nations,
that we may know each other,
not that we may despise each other.
If the enemy incline towards peace,
do thou also incline towards peace,
and trust in God, for the Lord
is the one that heareth and knoweth all things.
And the servants of God, Most Gracious
are those who walk on the Earth in humility,
and when we address them,
we say “PEACE.” – A Muslim Prayer for Peace

This morning I received a post quoting passages from the the Islamic Koran referring to the violent crushing of enemies. I was told that Islam is a religion of violence.

I offer blessings of hope, compassion and forgiveness to the writer.

I know that I can open the Jewish and Christian Bible and search for similar passages beseeching the God of Abraham, Isaac, Jacob to take my side, seek revenge with me, send plagues or insects or even put terror into the hearts of my enemies. I can also tell the story of Jesus throwing a temper tantrum in the Temple of Jerusalem in the face of the money changers.

Today, I remind myself that using any religions’ sacred texts to justify my fear, ignorance or intolerance…is wrong.

I recommit to coexistence. Blessings! Shalom! Namaste!

Muslim Prayer for Peace

One thought on “Muslim Prayer for Peace

Leave a Reply

